Uncategorized

5 Month Charity Yarning Challenge!

Here is a challenge to myself, mostly, but any yarn-art enthusiasts are welcome to join me. Between now and January first, I am assigning myself the challenge of making 2 knitted items every month. Small things. Hats. Gloves. Baby booties. Patterns I’ve been meaning to mess around with but haven’t gotten to. That means by the end of December, I should have 10 fuzzy things.

The number of items can change. If you have lots of time or knit faster than me, try for 1 a week! 1 a month? 2 in August, 1 in September, 3 in October? Whatever you like – just set a goal and try to stick to it.

In January, I will set up an Etsy account. The items will be sold and the proceeds will be donated to a charity chosen by those who make the items. The costs of shipping will be reimbursed, but the yarn and your labor are your donation to the charity. If you’re joining, please drop me a comment, and feel free to send me photos of the items as you finish them so I can post them here!

(P.S. This is a great opportunity to use up those yarns in your stash that just aren’t quite your style, or use the leftover walnuts to make a crazy stripey hat or baby munchkin slippers…)

Good luck!

ETA: My attempt to avoid knitting-centric language in this post failed. To be clear: any kind of yarn art is fantastic. If you crochet, crochet! Spin yarn? Spin some awesome stuff.  Do you weave or make bracelets or make baskets? I don’t care what it is as long as it is yarntastic! You can even make this octopus, a favorite activity from my childhood…

Discussion

5 thoughts on “5 Month Charity Yarning Challenge!

  1. So. I got here from Shakesville. Totally, totally digging your blog here and also this seems like the kind of charity project I can actually do. I wouldn’t think it would be, but I’ve made mistakes assuming things like this in the past so I’ll ask; is knitting a required attribute for these items? I can crochet pretty well, but so far every attempt at knitting has ended up in huge balls of knotted up yarn puke. I try, but haven’t figured it out yet.

    Posted by DK | August 1, 2011, 02:07
    • non-knitted yarn art is fine. I tried not to use knitting-centric language but obviously failed. I never learned to crochet or spin, so my brain tends to go “knitting! Duh!” I’m so excited to see what you crochet!

      Posted by startledoctopus | August 1, 2011, 09:06
  2. I am at least in for Oct-Dec. I will start up some crochety goodness this month, but IDK how long I can sit covered in yarn while the house is 100 degrees.

    Posted by Tori | August 2, 2011, 12:54
  3. I shall TRY but my knitting is magic, because it LOOKS fast and it FEELS fast but it’s actually really slow. =P Either way you shall get to inherit a bunch of my scrap yarn when I leave so muahahaha.

    Posted by Francesca | August 3, 2011, 22:05

Leave a Reply

